4 Replies - 830 Views - Last Post: 12 March 2013 - 06:03 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Hello All~

Posted 11 March 2013 - 08:00 PM

Hello, my name is Alyssa and I am new to programming. I really want to get into programming. I've always had the interest and have taken a class on some basic Java and know basic html. However, I want to start getting serious about programming. I haven't done anything outside of my classes so I am going to start now with the help of this site of course! I am not really sure what I should be doing to practice, but I guess I should start off just programming programs that I am interested in doing! I hope to see you around!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Hello All~

• Rock, paper, scissors, lizard, Spock
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Hello All~

Posted 11 March 2013 - 10:48 PM

Welcome to the site! It's goo that you're interested in learning things outside of just you classes, that kind of attitude will help you a lot in programming. :) As far as what you should do for practice, you are correct that you should start coding. There are so many things that you only come across when coding that will teach you a lot that you need to know and the more experience you have actually writing code, the better. Aside from that, never stop learning new things. Keep reading tutorials and books, anything to expand your knowledge. Even if the subject is something you don't even plan on doing, or it's shown in another language other then the one your learning. Often you'll learn things there, or find a new way of thinking about something that will carry over and help you become better at coding in general.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 12 March 2013 - 12:24 AM