7 Replies - 2114 Views - Last Post: 12 March 2013 - 01:11 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Variables Explained

Posted 12 March 2013 - 11:57 AM

I just started studying up on C#, it's been awhile since I've done any programming so I picked up Wrox's book Beginning Visual C# 2012 Programming. Unfortunately, their forums are just about dead. I understand variables, what they do. This appears to be describing how they work in a way that I do not quite understand it. Without quoting the book exactly I'll provide an example.

Variable storing N bits enables representation of numbers between 0 and (2^n - 1).

Mapping between integers and bits representing those integers:

0 = 00

It's like I understand what it's trying to say, but I'm not quite grasping it. Any help dumbing this down would be greatly appreciated.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Variables Explained

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Variables Explained

Posted 12 March 2013 - 12:00 PM

If you have a variable of a size N bits, then if you assume that the variable is an integer, then taking into account that the size of the variable is N bits, the variable would be able to hold numbers between 0 and 2^N - 1 (stored in binary).

Not really sure what the second bit is trying to say, but I guess it's trying to explain how numbers in base 10 (the numbers we know and love) can be represented in base 2 (binary with loads of 1's and 0's).

Not sure if that really helped as I've really just repeated it again, but it's pretty dumbed down as it is to be honest.

This post has been edited by Ryano121: 12 March 2013 - 12:01 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 12 March 2013 - 12:18 PM

Yea, I think it's just the way to book has it written, either that or I'm trying to overthink it.