8 Replies - 9996 Views - Last Post: 13 March 2013 - 10:49 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

WPF application stops processing when not the active window

Posted 13 March 2013 - 09:08 AM

I am totally new to windows programming, C# and WPF, so please excuse me if I use incorrect terms.

I am writing a WPF application that reads joystick values, performs some maths (ie an invert) and controls a virtual joystick via the vjoystick SDK. The purpose is to allow people to invert axes, adjust sensitivity, merge multiple sticks into one virtual stick etc. The user maps the virtual stick to game functions, and the physical stick(s) controls the virtual stick.

I have the code working, however when the WPF application is not the active window (ie it does not have "focus") then it stops processing.

What mechanism would be used to tell the whole application or a subroutine of it to continue processing the joystick input while it is not the active window?

The app will ultimately feature UI elements that reflect the state of the joystick, and it would also be nice for these to update while it is not the active window (ie you can see the window, but it is not the active one) but this is not essential.

Thanks in advance

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: WPF application stops processing when not the active window

• Xamarin Cert. Dev.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: WPF application stops processing when not the active window

Posted 13 March 2013 - 09:24 AM

That's normal behavior. The program doesn't get the input if its not in focus which isn't unreasonable: Would you want Outlook responding to mouse moves and clicks while you are in a web browser?

Its not that you continue processing the data when not in focus - its that the program doesn't receive the data from the OS.

To do what you describe you'd have to write something at sub-application level; intercepting the driver calls.