8 Replies - 3056 Views - Last Post: 17 May 2013 - 03:47 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

New to programming

Posted 13 March 2013 - 10:13 AM

Hi users of dreamincode,

I'm quite new to programming although I have some basic knowledge of html, upon my first visit to this site I stumbled across ButchDean's post - I want to program as a career. I thoroughly read through his article and made some notes for future reference, although this article gave me a rough idea on what I should be looking at it didn't help to give me a rough idea on where to start.

So I am posting this topic, to see if anybody could help me on where a good idea would be start.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: New to programming

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: New to programming

Posted 13 March 2013 - 10:17 AM

Start... where? In C++ or what? I mean there's many starting places.. colleges, universities, online classes, tutorials, etc. You need to be a bit more specific.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 13 March 2013 - 10:21 AM

View Postmodi123_1, on 13 March 2013 - 10:17 AM, said:

Start... where? In C++ or what? I mean there's many starting places.. colleges, universities, online classes, tutorials, etc. You need to be a bit more specific.

Well I live in the UK and theres no colleges that teach programming in depth in my area, would you recommend C++ to start off with?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 13 March 2013 - 10:49 AM

... I don't really know what I should recommend outside of moving this out of the C++ forum.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Cabbage
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 14 March 2013 - 02:01 AM

What do you want to make?

I know you said you want to be a career programmer but what do you want to make?
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Your Friendly Local Curmudgeon
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 14 March 2013 - 07:43 PM