8 Replies - 1561 Views - Last Post: 15 March 2013 - 03:48 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Reading user input

Posted 14 March 2013 - 08:36 AM

Hi I am new to PHP and am having a tough time finding a tutorial to show me how to read user input in the program. Basically I need the user to enter exchange rates and the dollar amounts they wish to convert but I can't figure it out. The first issue is getting user input for the danish krones exchange rate. Any help would be appreciated.
Here is the program:

# Variable Declarations

$us_dollars = 0;
$number_of_us_dollars = 3 	;
$us_dollar_total = 0.0;
$i = 1 ;

print("Welcome to the Money Exchange\n");
print("The program will convert three US dollar amounts to Danish, Krones, Euros and Hong Kong Dollars.\n");
print("First, please enter the exchange rates:\n");

do{
	  print("Danish Krones: ");	# Reads the user input for Danish Krones
      scanf
	  if ($danish_exchange <= 0)
      {
	    print("Invalid entry. Please enter a number greater than 0.");
      }
      }while($danish_exchange <= 0);

do{
	  $euros_exchange = float(raw_input("Euros: ")) ;# Reads the user input for Euros
	  if ($euros_exchange <= 0)
      {
      }
    }while($euros_exchange <= 0);

do{
	  $hk_exchange = float(raw_input("Hong Kong Dollars: ")); # Reads the user input for Hong Kong Dollars
	  if ($hk_exchange <= 0)
      {
      }
    }while($hk_exchange <= 0);

# Begin for loop

for($i = 1; $i < $number_of_us_dollars; $i++){

# Dollar amounts are entered by user */
    do{
	       $us_dollars = float(raw_input("\nEnter US dollars %i to be converted: " % (int(i))));
	       if ($us_dollars <= 0)
           {
           }
	      else
          {
              print "\n The amount of %.2f US dollars is equivalent to:\n" % (float($us_dollars));
          }
    }while($us_dollars <= 0);

$danish_krones = $us_dollars * $danish_exchange ;	#US dollars are converted to other currencies */
     $euros = $us_dollars * $euros_exchange ;