4 Replies - 2293 Views - Last Post: 17 March 2013 - 01:15 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Where to place an accumulator?

Posted 17 March 2013 - 12:23 PM

I am very new to VB.NET and coding in general, and I have a question. I need to put a loop in my code to keep a running total of the Cost to run these items. I have put several appliances in a ComboBox, and once a washer is chosen, the cost is adjusted to include the cost of the water. However, I do not know how to get the cost of the appliances to be totaled together.

I have tried several different loops, but it ultimately comes down to it not being able to get the total from inside the IF...Else conditions. In full disclosure, this is an assignment, but I am not asking you to do it for me. Just to please help me understand how I can get a loop to pull information out of IF...Else and add it to an accumulator. Am I just trying to make this more complicated that it needs to be?

Could someone please steer me in the right direction?

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

Public Class frmMain

Private Sub frmMain_Load(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load 'Loads the Main form

lblCostGallon.Hide() 'Hides the Cost per Gallon label for the Washer Selection
        lblGallons.Hide() 'Hides the Gallon label for the Washer Selection
        txtCostGallons.Hide() 'Hides the Cost per Gallon text box for the Washer Selection
        txtGallons.Hide() 'Hides the Gallon text box for the Washer Selection

End Sub

Function TotalPrice(ByVal decCost As Decimal, ByVal decPower As Decimal, dblHours As Double) As Decimal 'This function calculates the total price of all selections but the Washer by passing the values of the Hour, Power, and Cost variables

Dim decTotalPrice As Decimal 'Sets the Total Price as a Decimal

decTotalPrice = CDec(decCost * decPower * dblHours) 'Calculates the total price, multiplying the cost, power, and hours and converting it to a decimal