14 Replies - 9408 Views - Last Post: 18 March 2013 - 02:21 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How to go about creating a social gaming website?

Posted 17 March 2013 - 02:20 PM

Hello all,
I must say that I am new to this forum and also to game development. I am a web developer by profession and I want to create a social gaming site, where people can play games with their friends. But I do not know how to go about doing this. Is there a way I can get multiplayer games on my site? and if I can how much control will I have over these games. I don't even know what to ask, just please tell me what are the possibilities and options do I have to accomplish this. Also I am interested in knowing how Facebook does it, with their games.
Thanks!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How to go about creating a social gaming website?

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How to go about creating a social gaming website?

Posted 17 March 2013 - 03:06 PM

Hey.

If it's browser based games you are after, then the obvious choices are either Javascript based games, or Flash based games. (Silverlight and Java apps are also possible, I suppose, if you're into that kind of fringe stuff.)

As for control. With Javascript, all the code must be publicly visible. Otherwise the browsers can't execute them. They can be obfuscated, but that's just a minor inconvenience to anybody who wants to steal or somehow manipulate the code. Flash is a little bit less transparent, but still not exactly bulletproof. It's just best to assume the code will be manipulated and use server-side restrictions to control things.

The way Facebook does things is to allow developers to access APIs that can - with the user's permission - gain them certain level of access to the user's Facebook account. So that if the user agrees, the game can use the Facebook API to do things like read friends lists, do those annoying game requests, and even send out status updates.