6 Replies - 3006 Views - Last Post: 22 March 2013 - 04:36 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Prospective Computer Science Student after graduation:

Posted 20 March 2013 - 10:35 AM

Hello everyone and I would like to tell you a little about myself before getting into specific questions I have.

I am currently a Business and Science student at Rutgers with a focus in Biotechnology and Genomics. I completed my undergraduate studies at Rutgers in Biotechnology - Bioinformatics and Marine Sciences - Biological Oceanography. My graduation date is currently May 2014. However, the job market is extremely tough and I looked into ways I can make myself better suited for employment. After some consideration, I feel I can actually finish all the required courses to get into a Master's program (M.S.) in Computer science by just doing one extra semester in addition to the semesters I already have to do for my current graduate degree.

This is because I felt I might have been overly ambitious during my undergraduate studies and finished all the required courses for my graduate degree save for those that needed prerequisites. This leaves me with only three courses to take over the upcoming summer (May-August 2013), Fall 2013, and Spring 2013. Thus, I am planning on taking computer science courses that I already started on as part of the Bioinformatics track in Biotechnology bachelor's. I attached an image of the courses I plan to take (Excel files couldn't be uploaded).

I have a few important questions pertaining to the plans however: