1 Replies - 8448 Views - Last Post: 22 March 2013 - 05:12 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Call Zip subroutine in an 'if' statement; task

Posted 21 March 2013 - 07:36 AM

Hi everyone! I am very new to coding so please be patient. I am currently an intern in an IT department and was given a task to try to find a way to compress a file before it transfers from one server to the other (internal to external-SFT). In order to transfer files, we use control records that look similar to this:

ACTION=MbxGet,DEST_OR_SRC_SVR=WPSP,IN_MBX=/DWH/Upload,FILE_LIST=test_ftp_wpsp.lst, LOCAL_DIR=/datax/srv/dwh/outbound,FILE_TYPE=ASCII#$FILE_PATTERN=test_ftp_wpsp.txt

I would need to create a parameter ZIP='Y' in the current Perl script, and call a subroutine "Zip" that is already created in an old script.
Here is what I have so far:

#new params added to control record
GMIoutl::Zip($params{ZIP});

#If the control record states ZIP='Y', then zip the file. 
if ($params{ZIP} = "Y" {
				&Zip;
			}

#Subroutine from Perl Module: GMIoutl.pm
sub Zip
{

my $self = FormatSelf(@_);
	my $func_exit = 0;	
	my $badcnt;
	my $numfiles;

if (!defined $self->{SourceDir})
	{
		print "Could not determine source file directory <$self->{SourceDir}>\n";
		return 1;
	}
	if (!defined $self->{InputFileName})
	{
		print "Could not determine source file name <$self->{InputFileName}>\n";
		return 1;
	}
	if (!defined $self->{DestDir})
	{
		print "Could not determine destination file directory <$self->{DestDir}>\n";
		return 1;
	}
	if (!defined $self->{OutputFileName})
	{
		print "Could not determine destination/target file name <$self->{OutputFileName}>\n";
		return 1;
	}

print "SourceDir				= $self->{SourceDir}   \n";
	print "DestDir					= $self->{DestDir}     \n";
	print "Wild card InputFileName/Single Filename	= $self->{InputFileName}     \n";
	print "OutputFileName				= $self->{OutputFileName}  \n";

#********************************************************************