3 Replies - 1196 Views - Last Post: 25 March 2013 - 12:45 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

My programming path

Posted 25 March 2013 - 12:19 PM

Hey guys
I'm new to the forum it seems very active and full of good advice! So I want to ask a question about what should I do to achieve my goal.

Right now I finished my A+ exam and got my license, I'm studying for my N+ license, and planing on getting the S+ license. On my own I'm studying python, I'm halfway through the book 'http://learnpythonthehardway.org/', my goal is to become a security programmer, I love the idea of hacking a security system learning it's weakness and improving it(legally).
I just wanted help from anyone who could lead me in the right direction, like what are good python books, what topics should I master, when to start learning other languages, what should be my focus be as a beginner, really anything that can help me achieve my goal, since I dont have any mentors or go to college, I have been on my own trying to figure out what are my options.

All help is greatly appreciated!!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: My programming path

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: My programming path

Posted 25 March 2013 - 12:32 PM

You might consider paying a visit to our Python forum. There are helpful threads like this one, which should get you going in the right direction. Best of luck! :)
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Pancakes!
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 25 March 2013 - 12:32 PM

The best single reference that I know of for Python is Beazley's Complete Reference. The book is very densely packed, and has not just reference but also explanations. This book has replaced the O'Reilly volumes on my bookshelf.