6 Replies - 952 Views - Last Post: 15 April 2013 - 04:16 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Hello & Why Not Python3

Posted 26 March 2013 - 07:02 PM

Hi D.I.C. World!!

I am probably dumber than I think, but here's what I think I know.

• Just because I can Google for code efficiently, does not make me a programmer. At best I'm a script kiddie, only I'm way too old to be any kind of kiddie. But I'd like to be a programmer. (More on why I'd like this later)
  • I have lots of experience with BASH scripting and VBA. As well as the requisite HTML, CSS, and some Javascript.
  • I'm pretty solid with sysadmin stuff across Windows, Mac and Linux.
  • I learned Ruby a while ago, but I never found a use for it. So I stopped following it. Plus, _why left the scene and he's the only person that made it interesting to me.

I've just picked up learning Python v3.3, and yes my ventures in Python are fairly specific to v3 and up. Why version 3? Because I got a free ebook via some web promotion and it covers version 3. Also, I'm totally addicted to this game/webapp called Checkio and it lets you select v2.7 or v3, and I chose 3 cause that's the book I got. I'd like to actually use this knowledge for work and for fun. Which is why I picked up any language at all.

Here ends my, probably way too long winded, intro. Enough about me already, lets talk about Python!!

Other than lag in adoption of Python3, is there any reason that I should not start learning Python with version 3?

I never know how to end these kind of posts...

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Hello & Why Not Python3

• Saucy!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Hello & Why Not Python3

Posted 27 March 2013 - 03:59 AM

Let's move this to a better forum for your discussion, the Python Advanced Discussion forum.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Pythoneer
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 03 April 2013 - 01:22 PM