4 Replies - 512 Views - Last Post: 16 April 2013 - 06:18 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

raw_input, printing, and user input questions...

Posted 30 March 2013 - 10:42 PM

Before i get to my questions I want to inform all who read this that either my browser (firfox) is acting up or there is something wrong with the website. I cannot for reasons unkown to me use the search function available at the top right of the website (also the advanced search link below it). So if this type of question has been post which i think it might have please direct me to the correct location.

Ok so i have some basic knowledge of programming, I took a course at my local vocational school. Long story short after one year of learning programming and dealing with an awful instructor i decided to leave the course. Now in that course i learned the basics of programming and most of the java syntax.

Now i have been actively trying to learn python for 2 days, i have learned some of the quirks of the syntax with variables, strings, integers, how raw_input is to be used instead of input, how to define functions, and how if, else, and elif statements work.

I don't know if anyone in this forum knows java but I'm hoping someone does, well I'm sure you can understand it enough to figure out what I'm trying to convey and answer the question.

import java.util.Scanner;

public class example {

public static void main(String[] args){

Scanner sc = new Scanner(System.in);
String a;

System.out.println("enter a string");
a = sc.nextLine();

System.out.println (a);

}
}

Alright I'm not 100% sure that is correct so I'm going to explain it.

we import a scanner "module"

next we create the main class

we set the scanner module to work through "sc"

we create a String called a

we print a message telling the user to type a string

the a = sc.nextLine(); gathers the user input and stores it in the a variable

then the program prints the String a