6 Replies - 365 Views - Last Post: 02 April 2013 - 11:26 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 dreamincodehamza  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: -12
  • View blog
  • Posts: 332
  • Joined: 12-September 08

run cron job using php funtions

Posted 02 April 2013 - 10:45 AM

Is there any way to run "cron job" using php funtions?
I know very well how we can run cron job using hosting interfaces.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: run cron job using php funtions

#2 Dormilich  Icon User is offline

  • 痛覚残留
  • member icon

Reputation: 3576
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,441
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: run cron job using php funtions

Posted 02 April 2013 - 10:47 AM

it might be possible through the system() function, but thatís just the same as using the hosting interface.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 dreamincodehamza  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: -12
  • View blog
  • Posts: 332
  • Joined: 12-September 08

Re: run cron job using php funtions

Posted 02 April 2013 - 11:05 AM

View PostDormilich, on 02 April 2013 - 10:47 AM, said:

it might be possible through the system() function, but thatís just the same as using the hosting interface.



Is it possible to use this funtion on shared hosting where SSH is not enabled or available?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 Dormilich  Icon User is offline

  • 痛覚残留
  • member icon

Reputation: 3576
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,441
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: run cron job using php funtions

Posted 02 April 2013 - 11:13 AM

donít know, but I doubt an ISP would let you have access to its system easily. thatís why they provide their own interface most of the times.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 dreamincodehamza  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: -12
  • View blog
  • Posts: 332
  • Joined: 12-September 08

Re: run cron job using php funtions

Posted 02 April 2013 - 11:16 AM

View PostDormilich, on 02 April 2013 - 11:13 AM, said:

donít know, but I doubt an ISP would let you have access to its system easily. thatís why they provide their own interface most of the times.


alright.Just want to share an article with you http://chipmunkninja...-PHP%3A-exec-m@
can you please tell me which one of these would be the best to use in case of running "cron job"
thanks for your time
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 Dormilich  Icon User is offline

  • 痛覚残留
  • member icon

Reputation: 3576
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,441
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: run cron job using php funtions

Posted 02 April 2013 - 11:25 AM

View Postdreamincodehamza, on 02 April 2013 - 07:16 PM, said:

can you please tell me which one of these would be the best to use in case of running "cron job"

I have no idea. usually I try to do shell stuff from the shell.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 dreamincodehamza  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: -12
  • View blog
  • Posts: 332
  • Joined: 12-September 08

Re: run cron job using php funtions

Posted 02 April 2013 - 11:26 AM

okay

This post has been edited by Dormilich: 02 April 2013 - 12:43 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1