4 Replies - 959 Views - Last Post: 07 April 2013 - 09:23 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Is there a market for tools for VB 5/6 programmers ?

Posted 02 April 2013 - 02:11 PM

I used to be a VB (1.0,2.0,5.0 pro) programmer about 10 years ago. I moved on to PowerBasic and spent the last 10 years learning to become an experienced WIN32 API programmer. I now developer tools for PowerBasic programmers, but I see there are still a number of programmers writing apps using Visual Basic 6.0.

My question is:

Is there a market for third party developers of tools for VB 5/6 programmers ?

The advantage that I currently have right now is that I work with the low level WIN32 API's (like old time C programmers used to), I have been a long time BASIC programmer (since the CPM days) from early Basics, QBasic, QuickBasic, PDS 7.1, VB 1.0, 2.0 and 5.0 (pro) and now PowerBasic, and I write tools for programmers. I am curious about whether it would benefit the VB (classic) community to create some new tools which cna help VB programmers leverage the more current operating systems like Windows 7 and 8.

So what kind of experience do I have, you may ask ?

The problem with PowerBasic over the years was its lack of GUI features (it currently has them, but they are rudimentary compared to say VB) so I built my own GUI libraries and tools. For example I learned how to build a drag and drop engine so I could build my own WYSIWYG style drag and drop visual designers. I learned how to tap into many low features of the WIN32 API's such as ownerdraw, customdraw, subclassing, superclassing, threads, DIBs, complex regions, customizing common dialogs and more. I then learned how to build a bunch of stuff from scratch like custom window classes such as Turtle Graphics control (vector based), Canvas control (with a 2D sprite engine), MCI control, Property Listbox control, OpenGL based 3D control with built in scripting language.