8 Replies - 1108 Views - Last Post: 10 April 2013 - 09:14 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How do you improve your programming skills?

Posted 04 April 2013 - 07:13 AM

I am a complete noob who needs help with my programming, how do improve your programming skills?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How do you improve your programming skills?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How do you improve your programming skills?

Posted 04 April 2013 - 07:21 AM

Think of projects.. examine projects.. do projects.. read the msdn files.. try out progressively more complex projects.. keep up on the framework.. etc.

project lists:

Project Ideas

Martyr2 Mega Project List
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• This space intentionally left blank
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 04 April 2013 - 07:22 AM

Read, Read and Read some more.

Try small programs that use various commands read about the commands used and why they work or read to discover why they don't work.

The link in my signature has a lot of short videos that do a really good job of explaining the major operations that you would use in most programs. Understanding these and when to use them will be a huge improvement.

Then forums like these where you can post your code that you're having issues with or don't fully understand and someone with knowledge in the area can help and/or explain it.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 04 April 2013 - 07:31 AM

What kind of help exactly?
Is there a specific thing you are struggling with?

Tons of places online, lots of books available.
This book is a good starting point.
Udacity has a nice programming course you can take for free.

Without specific questions you'll probably get vague answers like mine heh.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#5 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

• Pancakes!
  • member icon

• View blog