3 Replies - 769 Views - Last Post: 17 April 2013 - 03:07 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How to begin network programming for multiplayer games

Posted 05 April 2013 - 12:45 AM

I've been programming c++ and python for past 3 years (not a professional, final semester college). I'm really interested in network programming and multiplayer network programming seems interesting and challenging but I have no idea how ot begin with it. I really need some pointers, guides any possible help or experience that you guys can share will be really helpful. I've tried google it hasn't been much of a help. I have my general networking concepts clear, just want to apply those in programming. Please guys I really need help. Really want to become a network programmer.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How to begin network programming for multiplayer games

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How to begin network programming for multiplayer games

Posted 05 April 2013 - 07:14 AM

Someplace to start would be simple chat program. The only real difference is a chat program just sends and displays text. Your game would send/receive game commands and updates. You then react to the commands locally. But the transmission of data is transmission of data.

Q: ...make a chat or client-server application?
A:Client/server chat tutorial
Peer-to-peer chat
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 11 April 2013 - 09:55 PM

I actually have a really similar question, if you don't mind me posting here (didn't see much point in making multiple threads).