5 Replies - 888 Views - Last Post: 07 April 2013 - 10:14 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Creating my first API, need input on outlining the process

Posted 06 April 2013 - 12:41 PM

I'm a relatively new CS student and so far I've learned Python and am currently learning C/C++. I would like to gain some real world knowledge and apply what I've learned to better myself as a programmer so I want to create an API for free for someone I know.

Here is what I need done: I have a website that uses a contact form where people submit information (in this case, a bunch of math equations). The equations are stored and then sent to a script using Python which grabs the equations from the backend of the site and then sends them to a software that actually computes the equations.

Here is my initial outline of creating the API along with my questions:

1. Create a script using Python to communicate with the site backend and grab the equations entered in the front end contact form.
Q: I am not sure how to communicate using Python (an OS based language) to work with say PHP (a website language)...should I be using something like Django/Web.py? Also, I assume the python script will be stored in the websites directory, how will I be able to get it to communicate with the software on another computer?

2. After the python script grabs the data/equations, it sends them to the appropriate software.
Q: For this process, should the script save the equations in a text file and then send them to the software or directly send them to the software? What do you think is a better/easier idea? Also, how can I have Python communicate with an open source software, is it possible to make a python program to run another program written in C++ (the computing software is written in C++)?

I just need some guidance on how to visualize the entire process as I've never written an actual real world program before with so many variables but I really want to do this to learn more.