6 Replies - 2881 Views - Last Post: 16 October 2007 - 05:53 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Why to use Cold Fusion?

Posted 16 August 2007 - 03:21 PM

Hi

I am new to Cold Fusion. I`ve recently received a handy videotutorial demonstrating how to build up a data driven page using Dreamweaver and ColdFusion. The tutorial is provided by Lynda.com and they refer to ColdFusion as the easiest option among ASP, PHP and other similar languages.

I gave PHP a try the other day and found it extremely hard, an endless list of functions, long and technical articles led me to trying something else. [ColdFusion]

It seems ok to me since it is a tag-based language. The only thing I am concerned about is the popularity of ColdFusion as most developers are basically married to PHP.

so my question is: is there any profit to be gained from learning ColdFusion, what are the pros and cons? Is ColdFusion gonna make my life a lot easier since i have no real experience of programming?

any advise as well as good material sources will be very much appreciated

Thank you

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Why to use Cold Fusion?

• Head DIC Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Why to use Cold Fusion?

Posted 16 August 2007 - 03:24 PM

Learn an actual "language" like PHP, ASP, or Perl... even Ruby... then pick up ColdFusion. ColdFusion won't teach you to program.

This is coming from someone who programs ColdFusion every day for a living. I however learned PHP before I learned ColdFusion and I can honestly say that without that knowledge, I would not be nearly as good with ColdFusion and I'd also never feel like I could make the leap to another language.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 16 August 2007 - 03:37 PM

View Postskyhawk133, on 16 Aug, 2007 - 03:24 PM, said:

Learn an actual "language" like PHP, ASP, or Perl... even Ruby... then pick up ColdFusion. ColdFusion won't teach you to program.