13 Replies - 288 Views - Last Post: 08 April 2013 - 06:46 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

What need to know for this?

Posted 08 April 2013 - 07:23 AM

Hello, I want to create a multiplayer browser game. Game wouldn't be very special, simple 2D, but I think it would be popular. Controling arrows and maybe some other few buttons. I want to make system, when player logs in and he wants to play, he need to connect to other servers from the list or create his own. But I don't understand how that all should work. Do I need to have server for those rooms? What I need to know for creating this type of game? I have basic Java knowledge, maybe a little bit more than basic, I have created some simple 2D games for pc. So, please give me some information, what I need to know.

This post has been edited by novakasss: 08 April 2013 - 07:23 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What need to know for this?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What need to know for this?

Posted 08 April 2013 - 08:45 AM

Hello, I want to create a multiplayer browser game. Game wouldn't be very special, simple 2D, but I think it would be popular. Controling arrows and maybe some other few buttons.

Heh.. that's what they *ALL* say.

I want to make system, when player logs in and he wants to play, he need to connect to other servers from the list or create his own.

Okay so what constitutes a 'server'? Why would there be a need for more than one server let alone multiple? Are you hosting these all, or can people run them from their local machines? Do you plan on releasing some sort of 'server code' for people? How about an on going support plan for people's varied systems?

But I don't understand how that all should work. Do I need to have server for those rooms?

Woah.. rooms? What are their relation to a server?