5 Replies - 324 Views - Last Post: 08 April 2013 - 12:24 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Where to Start.

Posted 08 April 2013 - 11:29 AM

Hey there. I am new to the idea of programming. I have dived into C++ a little, and I grasp it, I think it just requires repetition. Repetition is the father of learning, Repetition is the father of learning...

In any case. I have it all on paper. Graph Paper to be specific, a top down game. I would say it is like the Overhead view Zelda games. Not to compare it with the game.

I know how I want the game to work. It may change once I get into it, but I have an idea of all the mechanics. Everything is written and ready, the characters, health system, items, weapons, enemies, bosses, boss fights, NPCs its done. Done on paper that is. Colored in, art, so on. it is done.

I just do not know where to start at all. What engine to use, where to get it, do I scan it on my PC and put it on an engine? is there a friendly engine that will be easy to work with on my own?

I have been putting this on paper for that past few years, and I finally had some free time and finished it. My end goal is to get this on PC, Mac, maybe consoles such as PSN or XBLA. I don't really care about making money, I would just love to see my game created, playable, and the only way I see it happening is if I do it.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Where to Start.

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Where to Start.

Posted 08 April 2013 - 11:42 AM

I just do not know where to start at all. What engine to use,

Depends on what platform(s) you are shooting for. Do you really want to write code or is a more drag and drop up your angle?

http://store.steampo....com/app/214850
http://store.steampo...com/app/220700/
http://store.steampo...com/app/227240/

where to get it,

Typically a website.

do I scan it on my PC and put it on an engine?

I have no idea what this means.