3 Replies - 571 Views - Last Post: 09 April 2013 - 12:12 PM

#1 AIintern  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: 06-June 12

Pulling a string from a website?

Posted 09 April 2013 - 11:45 AM

I was wondering if it was possible to search a website for a certain phrase
And have your program automatically show the whole line for you..


For example

You click on "Search red.com"

And the program looks at red.com and tries to find the phrase "Buy now for"
once the program finds the phrase it pop up in your window saying

"Buy now for only $23"


I hope I made this question easy to understand, if you need anymore details please let me know.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Pulling a string from a website?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9055
  • View blog
  • Posts: 33,988
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Pulling a string from a website?

Posted 09 April 2013 - 11:49 AM

Sure.. Depends what language the 'searching' program is in, but most have a way of downloading html into a string.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 AIintern  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: 06-June 12

Re: Pulling a string from a website?

Posted 09 April 2013 - 11:56 AM

I am using just html right now.

How would I download HTML into a string?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9055
  • View blog
  • Posts: 33,988
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Pulling a string from a website?

Posted 09 April 2013 - 12:12 PM

What does HTML stand for? Hyper Text Markup Language. It basically makes words look pretty, right? You would need something significantly more powerful.. ruby, java, java script, php, vb.net, c#, etc.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1