6 Replies - 1519 Views - Last Post: 15 April 2013 - 03:53 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Math and Software Development?

Posted 13 April 2013 - 02:40 AM

Hey there guys!
Im currently in 11th grade here in Australia and in 12th grade we have to take exans which will qualify us for different courses.
Now im curious whether or not software development would require skill in maths as i am absolutely terrible at it haha so i might drop it.
Any inputs ? :) Thanks
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Math and Software Development?

• Cabbage
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Math and Software Development?

Posted 13 April 2013 - 03:40 AM

You can certainly program without much knowledge of maths. I started programming at the age of 9 when the most maths I had done was simple arithmetic. Once I had pieced together enough knowledge, I managed to make some simple games which is really all I was interested in doing.

Don't get me wrong, maths is really useful for programming. It's just for a lot of applications it is not necessary. For those where it is necessary (e.g. 3D graphics) you will find that there is often a library that exists to do the heavy lifting for you.

I think that you might find that programming improves your skill in maths. Programming is really a mathematical discipline. It's just that there isn't much obvious overlap with the algebra and calculus you study in school.

This post has been edited by cfoley: 13 April 2013 - 01:59 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• I'm a cheeseburger
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 13 April 2013 - 09:52 AM

Math isn't needed.

Math certainly helps.

And I don't mean in a direct application of maths for like physics or 3d graphics... but for the logical thought process that math trains you in.