3 Replies - 1499 Views - Last Post: 17 April 2013 - 10:33 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Nooby SQL command issue

Posted 14 April 2013 - 12:17 AM

Hey guys have been literally pulling my hair out over a problem I have been having with this piece of code. Basically I have two tables, one called items, and one called categories.

I want to be able to search the items table according to the user search query, however I also want to limit those search results to the category selected, (if the user selected one).

I am very new to mySQL but trying so hard to get the hang of it! I think in this case I just lack the knowledge on how to tackle this situation.

This is what I have tried, it works, but it's ugly as hell. Also I'm sure it would be cleaner/more efficient to implement some sort of unique key between the items table and the category table to eliminate the use of the $category variable within php.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! :)

function get_items($str, $category) {
        $connection = mysql_open();

$query ="SELECT title, description, vendor, category_id, starting_price FROM ea_items ";

if ($category == 0) {
            if ($str != '') {
                $query.="WHERE title like '%$str%' or description like '%$str%' or vendor like '%$str%' ";
            } 
        } else {
            if ($str != '') {
                $query.="WHERE title like '%$str%' or description like '%$str%' or vendor like '%$str%' ";
                $query.="AND category_id = $category";
            } else {
                $query.="WHERE category_id = $category";
            }
        }

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Nooby SQL command issue

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Nooby SQL command issue

Posted 17 April 2013 - 03:14 PM

Performance wise your code is all good. Some of the query is repeated, which I'm guessing is what you want to avoid.