5 Replies - 2881 Views - Last Post: 18 April 2013 - 08:56 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

URL Requests & web.config

Posted 18 April 2013 - 07:48 PM

I recently put a personal blog I've been making from scratch, using HTML, CSS, PHP, and Javascript online, via Godaddy. I am using Windows hosting (IIS 7.0/ASP.Net 4.0/PHP 5.3), and I'm faced with three issues in regards to URL requests made to my website: www.mattkunin.com. I know that under Windows, the web.config file is used, whereas on Linux, it's the .htaccess file that's used. I have no experience whatsoever when it comes to web.config.

Issues:

1) If I enter a random page into the address bar, such as "mattkunin.com/fdsanfksdnfkjsdnfkdsbfgjrbvjkfbjaskfheiruebfaeiylkrbgio," it auto-redirects to my 404 page, specified by Godaddy (which just so happens to then redirect the user back to the home page). This is good. However, the issue comes when I enter something random, yet with the file extension ".php" at the end. If I enter "mattkunin.com/fdsafiofiosdfio.php," I would hope it would also auto-redirect to my 404 page, since I don't have a file under that name, but this isn't the case. Instead, I get the output "No input file specified." Obviously, I'd like for this to mimic the behavior of what happens when I simply enter random text (w/o the ".php" at the end) after "mattkunin.com/."

2) If I try to open a valid page on my site, but without the file extension, it treats it as if I'm entering "mattkunin.com/randomtext." This means that it'll auto-redirect me to my 404 page, which in turn will send me to my home page. I want the server to behave as if I enter in the URL but with the file extension at the end, yet still show the original requested URL.

Example of what I want:

- I request "mattkunin.com/contact," and it will load my contact.php page, but keep the URL in the address bar the same (w/o the extension).