4 Replies - 1374 Views - Last Post: 21 April 2013 - 09:41 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

course career college

Posted 19 April 2013 - 07:04 AM

Hello,

I'm a newbie here and I apologize if my question is basic or irrelevant.I just completed my 12th grade and have a passion for Computer science.So planning to pursue Computer Science Engineering/ IT . So during these holidays I would like to know if there are some courses I can take up to improve. I have a basic knowledge about C/C++ as it was part of our syllabus.

So what would you suggest ??

Thanks in advance!!!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: course career college

#2 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

• Pancakes!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: course career college

Posted 19 April 2013 - 07:18 AM

Difficult question, for a number of reasons. We have no real idea of what you'd like to pursue - you've really not narrowed down your interests very much.

If you're interested in becoming a better programmer, the best thing to do is to write lots of programs. I'd suggest you use projecteuler.net and rosalind.info as starting points - solve a problem or two a day from those sites and you'll be improving steadily as a programmer for a while to come.

The next thing to do is to learn new languages. If you know C/C++, think about learning a more "functional" language - something like a lisp (Scheme or Racket are great) or possibly python or Ruby.

You might possibly need more math. Mathematical thinking is pretty critical to good programming. Consider trying to learn some stuff about set theory, number theory, or graph theory. The basic math course for CS is called Discrete Math, and it involves bits of all of that, so that would be a good one to take.

You'll definitely want to take Algorithms and Data Structures at some point. If that's available to you, it's worth doing. If it's taught well, it'll exercise both your math and your programming.