8 Replies - 356 Views - Last Post: 24 April 2013 - 09:37 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Design Aspect of Web Development

Posted 24 April 2013 - 09:59 AM

First let me start this by saying I'm a web developer. I have a job working with ASP.NET and C# and I am fluent in PHP and Javascript. I can do all of the back-end of a website and get it all to work to a client's needs. My huge weakness, however, is the design of a website. I know HTML and I know the basics of CSS, but in terms of design, when I try and put a website together it pretty much looks like it's straight out of the 1990's. Yes, it works, but the design is pretty lame and unimpressive.

So, this leads me to a few questions. Maybe they're basic or maybe there's no right answer, but I'm looking for opinions and advice.

I am very bad with Photoshop. All of the big-time designs, are they done with .psd files? Is it possible to create a modern looking website strictly with CSS? What are some things that I should look into to really be able to develop good website layouts and designs? Should I force myself to learn the Photoshop side of things?

What do you guys do?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Design Aspect of Web Development

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Design Aspect of Web Development

Posted 24 April 2013 - 10:12 AM

I am very bad with Photoshop. All of the big-time designs, are they done with .psd files?

I am not sure what you are implying there, but a PSD is just a photoshop image file, right? You don't just slap that on a hosted site and some how it automagically works. What people tend to do is mock up a site in photoshop and use the slice tool to break out specific jpgs/png/gifs/etc and optimize them for the web. They still need to hook up the images to the html, and that is typically done with css.

Is it possible to create a modern looking website strictly with CSS?

Yes, see above.