12 Replies - 1519 Views - Last Post: 03 May 2013 - 06:25 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Interview Depression

Posted 01 May 2013 - 04:09 PM

Hello everyone,
this is my first post on this website and I'm still a little unsure of how to say what I want to.

Essentially, I'm still a regularly new developer (graduating in 2010 with a Computer Science degree from a co-op program). I've been got laid off my last job, which was unfortunately a build position.

I have one problem, in that I have an anxiety disorder. Certain things (including interviews and tests) make me disproportionately nervous. I'll often only be able to get about 3 hours sleep, if any, my heart rate stays very high for the hours leading up to the interview, I panic immensely, etc). I went to therapy for awhile to try and help me, but only so much can be done without medication, yet my doctor recommended we not medicate as i don't have generalized anxiety disorder.

As a result of this, I've been furiously working on my interview skills as it helps me relax a bit. I can at least get a good night's sleep now. I've spent weeks prepping, reading interview guides, working on programming questions, etc. But I've just been failing a long string of interviews, or at least I must be as everyone seems to be turning me away. In the rare case when someone does reply to my inquiries with why I wasn't hired, they pretty much just say something along the (paraphrased) lines of "You did really well, we just want more someone with more experience".