What game are you developing on the side?

• (4 Pages)
  • +

46 Replies - 8108 Views - Last Post: 21 May 2014 - 04:07 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: What game are you developing on the side?

Posted 05 November 2013 - 01:24 PM

I'm taking a small break from 3D.
I'm doing a challenge to create a 2D side scroller in 40 devellopment hours. (much like a challenge from an article from gamedev: how to build a game in a week from scratch with no budget (link doesnt work))
I was talking with some friends about that article. They said, "could you do that?".

So now, I'm doing it.

I'm at hour 7 now.
Got the core "engine" running. States, some factorys, input, some sound, ect.
Now mostly it's about actually finishing the game, creating some decent graphics, enemies, ect.

I have never done a side scroller before. I'm using python with pygame (can't get Opengl 3.3 to work on debian (my main os), waiting for mesa 10.0, otherwise I would just use that). I've done some python, but no pygame.

It's quite interesting.

This post has been edited by axel1994: 05 November 2013 - 02:24 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• The North American Snipe

• View blog

Posted 05 November 2013 - 02:43 PM

What peak my interest in skipping a step was the thought (while I was playing MAA) that I could do this. Then I thought 'You made 3d chemistry modeler for your final project and you haven't even tried to code a game yet'

So now I am gathering information. I think the first thing I am going to do is just An Attack game, 1 PC Controlled Model vs a CPU Controlled Model. Nothing Fancy, doesn't even have to be in 3d.

I leaning towards VB right now (thought as I mess with Unity today, I might have an engine in mind when I expand it) and no real great graphics, just a project I can say I created it and I have started.

Eventually I want to build a 3rd RPG Shooter, but right now it is baby step time.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• View blog