• (2 Pages)
  • +

26 Replies - 1923 Views - Last Post: 13 May 2013 - 03:44 AM

• New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Human Laziness Evolving?

Posted 07 May 2013 - 04:23 PM

This is a topic that has bothered me for quite some time. Real Programmers VS Code "Snippers" and "Googlers"

Reading over many of the newer posts over the last few months there seem to be an increasing number of people asking for help with exams and homework. Has it always been like this??

A good quote to describe this is one by Daniel Tosh: (basically sums up my thoughts):
"Don't you love it when people in school are like, "I'm a bad test taker"? ...You mean, you're stupid.
Oh, you struggle with that part where we find out what you know? .....Oh. No, no, I can totally relate.
See, because I'm a brilliant painter...... minus my God-awful brushstrokes.
Oh, how the masterpiece is crystal up here[points to head], but once paint hits canvas, I develop Parkinson's.
I assume you do your best work in the morning. Probably gets abstract by noon."
-Daniel Tosh

Anyway, back to the subject. Since the dawn of the internet age, code resources are becoming more and more easily available via the web. Instead of studying and committing code syntax to memory, they just "google" it and then to the usual "copy" and "paste", a little editing here and there until the errors go away and done!

This REALLY bothers me when someone is taking an exam. A programming exam is to test WHAT YOU KNOW, not what your friends know, and not what google knows. I can understand the use of MSDN or a programming book on exams, but not asking someone to check your half-ass fake code that you wrote to pretend you're trying just to get someone to give you the "correct" answer that you inevitably copy and paste into your program and then call it your own.