9 Replies - 1534 Views - Last Post: 13 May 2013 - 12:53 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Cannot display ASP.NET Web Forms outside of Visual Studio

Posted 08 May 2013 - 06:48 PM

Hello Dream-in-Code Forum > This is my first time in the forum, although I've read useful information here many times. I'm working on an industrial application where I need to import data from a machine into a SQL database, and then extract information from the database for various Web Forms reports in an ASP.NET environment. I'm working in Visual Studio 2008 using C# 3.0 for the development. It's a large program that I inherited from a programmer who is no longer with the company, and now I need to make some changes to the reports and/or add a few new reports.

So here is the current situation:
- The original deployment of the program on the host machine works well.
- The original and modified versions of the program work well on my laptop computer (which is the computer being used to develop the code, apart from the host machine - the program will be deployed back to the host machine after my work is complete).
- The modified program works only within Visual Studio itself. If I run it in debugging mode (F5), run it without debugging (Ctrl+F5), or View -> View page in browser, it works fine.
- The original and modified verions of the code will *not* work outside of Visual Studio; this also applies on the host machine, if I try to redeploy either the old or modified versions (yes, it won't work even if I try redeploying with the exact same version as the original). After building the program, if I run the program via the URL http://localhost/Pro...nReporting.aspx, it errors out with the following details:

Server Error in '/ProductionReporting' Application.
Length cannot be less than zero.
Parameter name: length