5 Replies - 486 Views - Last Post: 11 May 2013 - 03:28 AM

#1 UnknownCodester  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: 05-March 13

Temporary Internet Files causing problems?

Posted 10 May 2013 - 01:16 PM

Hi guys,

I am just literally learning javascript and I making quick changes to my code.
However each time I refresh the webpage to display my new output it still displays the old output.
I have just noticed before that if I delete my temporary internet files that the new page loads and I get the desired output. I am guessing you have encountered this problem, I want to be working at a faster rate, is there a convenient way around this other than deleting temporary internet files.

Thank you.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Temporary Internet Files causing problems?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8375
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,131
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Temporary Internet Files causing problems?

Posted 10 May 2013 - 01:18 PM

Try to force the refresh...

control+f5
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Atli  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 3636
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,758
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: Temporary Internet Files causing problems?

Posted 10 May 2013 - 01:22 PM

You can usually get developer addons for the major browsers that can disable caching on the browser while doing things like that.

I usually develop on Firefox, and use the Web Developer AddOn to disable the cache. I think IE has something built into it's dev tools that does something similar. (I remember it being broken for ages, but it's probably been fixed by now.)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 andrewsw  Icon User is online

  • Fire giant boob nipple gun!
  • member icon

Reputation: 2885
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,570
  • Joined: 12-December 12

Re: Temporary Internet Files causing problems?

Posted 10 May 2013 - 02:11 PM

I understand that adding a random querystring to the url also forces clearing of the cache

somepage.com?r=12365

It's a bit of a hack and I'm not necessarily recommending it as a sensible method (I'm not even 100% sure that this will work reliably) :).

As Atli advises, most browser's web tools have an option to clear, or disable, the cache.

This post has been edited by andrewsw: 10 May 2013 - 02:13 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Dormilich  Icon User is online

  • 痛覚残留
  • member icon

Reputation: 3393
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,591
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: Temporary Internet Files causing problems?

Posted 11 May 2013 - 03:12 AM

View Postandrewsw, on 10 May 2013 - 11:11 PM, said:

I understand that adding a random querystring to the url also forces clearing of the cache

it doesn’t. but since it is a different URL than the one in the cache, the browser assumes it to be a completely new page.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#6 andrewsw  Icon User is online

  • Fire giant boob nipple gun!
  • member icon

Reputation: 2885
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,570
  • Joined: 12-December 12

Re: Temporary Internet Files causing problems?

Posted 11 May 2013 - 03:28 AM

View PostDormilich, on 11 May 2013 - 10:12 AM, said:

View Postandrewsw, on 10 May 2013 - 11:11 PM, said:

I understand that adding a random querystring to the url also forces clearing of the cache

it doesn’t. but since it is a different URL than the one in the cache, the browser assumes it to be a completely new page.

Of course :)/> what was I thinking! Knew it was a hack.

This post has been edited by Dormilich: 11 May 2013 - 03:29 AM
Reason for edit:: fixed typo

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1