9 Replies - 724 Views - Last Post: 13 May 2013 - 05:46 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

MCSD certification or Associate's Degree

Posted 13 May 2013 - 01:01 PM

Hi. I want to get a job as an applications programmer and need some advice.

Here is my background. I have a Bachelor's in Math and am self-taught in programming concepts. I have learned a decent amount of ASP.NET/C#. But, I have been told in interviews that I need to get some credentials.

My parents are letting me work part-time, while either going to school or working on certifications. Since I am familiar with ASP.NET/C#, I was thinking about getting an MCSD certification. I have seen websites that say 80 - 90K is an average salary for someone with an MCSD cert. I am aware that these statistics are including work experience.

Do you think I should obtain the cert or go for an Associate's Degree? By the way, the Associate's degree teaches Cobol and Java.

Do you think the cert is broad enough to get me an entry level position? Perhaps, even for an entry level position having nothing to do with .NET? I say this because it seems like smaller companies don't require a specific set of credentials for entry level, just as long as you have some credentials.

Thank you very much to anyone who can give me some advice. Here is a link to the required exams for an MCSD:
My link

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: MCSD certification or Associate's Degree

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: MCSD certification or Associate's Degree

Posted 13 May 2013 - 01:07 PM

That sort of depends on how much of the base programming concepts you have picked up.

Do feel you have the courses and skills listed under the "MTA development track" covered?