9 Replies - 562 Views - Last Post: 18 May 2013 - 05:09 PM

#1 mgoodrich  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 17-May 13

run exe on website/webpage

Posted 17 May 2013 - 08:23 AM

how can i run exe on my website
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: run exe on website/webpage

#2 Dormilich  Icon User is offline

  • 痛覚残留
  • member icon

Reputation: 3577
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,442
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: run exe on website/webpage

Posted 17 May 2013 - 08:24 AM

not at all. an .exe file requires a Windows environment.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9579
  • View blog
  • Posts: 36,292
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: run exe on website/webpage

Posted 17 May 2013 - 08:26 AM

Not to mention - rightfully so. All the havoc from executable code now would be compounded if there was some sort of remote execution!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 mgoodrich  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 17-May 13

Re: run exe on website/webpage

Posted 17 May 2013 - 08:44 AM

thank you for your reply. I know nothing about programming. is there a way to transform an exe file to a proper language
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9579
  • View blog
  • Posts: 36,292
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: run exe on website/webpage

Posted 17 May 2013 - 08:47 AM

You'll need to provide a bit more information than that. Are you asking how to make an executable a webform?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 mgoodrich  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 17-May 13

Re: run exe on website/webpage

Posted 17 May 2013 - 09:02 AM

it would be similar to a real estate site might grab listings from an outside source from information provided by the user

or like apps on an android product

only run on the site
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9579
  • View blog
  • Posts: 36,292
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: run exe on website/webpage

Posted 17 May 2013 - 09:06 AM

You would need to rewrite the entire app in some sort of web orientated format.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 mgoodrich  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 17-May 13

Re: run exe on website/webpage

Posted 17 May 2013 - 09:15 AM

I was afraid you would say that. thanks for taking time to answer my questions.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 ellaandcodeysdaddy  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: -3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: 21-March 12

Re: run exe on website/webpage

Posted 18 May 2013 - 02:57 PM

Would it be a possibility to fetch data from the DB with Javascript? You can use Javascript to access an Access DB or Excel SS.
Was This Post Helpful? -2
  • +
  • -

#10 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

  • Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon




Reputation: 10816
  • View blog
  • Posts: 40,317
  • Joined: 27-December 08

Re: run exe on website/webpage

Posted 18 May 2013 - 05:09 PM

Javascript is client side. Database interactions really require a server-side language.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1