2 Replies - 1322 Views - Last Post: 23 May 2013 - 09:15 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Getting A Job

Posted 23 May 2013 - 09:00 AM

I'm currently studying to be Java 6 Oracle Certified, I am doing this privately, not through a university.

Now what would be the best thing for me to do to get into a company where I can get experience?(once Ive passed the exam) baring in mind that this is my first computer language, I wont have a university degree and i have no previous commercial experience!

How can I convince a company to take me on and prove to them that I wont be wasting their time?

Any information on this would be a great help! Thanks!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Getting A Job

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Getting A Job

Posted 23 May 2013 - 09:02 AM

Read through the posts here and in the student section.. see the advice there.. make a portfolio of semi complex applications showing your design, code, documentation, etc.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

• Pancakes!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Getting A Job

Posted 23 May 2013 - 09:15 AM

Especially at the start, a large part of job-hunting is connections. A strong recommendation from someone known to the person doing the hiring is a very hard signal to fake. This is where internships and volunteer work can really help you: if you've done something real for someone, and they're willing to tell others about you, then you're in a better position than someone who just has a pile of certifications (yawn) or degrees (likewise) Internships are harder for someone not affiliated with an educational institution, so that's a little tricky for you, but it's something that works for many people.