6 Replies - 403 Views - Last Post: 30 May 2013 - 08:36 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Read from a text file, and return a string based on input

Posted 28 May 2013 - 04:16 PM

Alright, so Im trying to write a program for a homework assignment that takes the month in a format like ddmmyyyy and returns it in the format month day, year. So 04/01/1990 becomes January 4th, 1990. Im suppose to take a text file that contains the months in a list with the corresponding names beside them. For example the list in the text file looks like this:

01January
02February
.. and so on.

I was able to write the program before I realised I needed to access this list and read it from there. Im brand new to programming, and I have experienced with strings a bit, but not really input output. I hate to blame my prof for anything, but this is the first class shes ever taught, and wont answer any of my emails, so I have received next to no help, so I decided to look for help on the internet instead. I understand the algorithm I need to use, I just dont know enough to know how to open the file, and compare the user inputted date to the strings in the file, and return the certain one.

Should I use ifstream? for example

ifstream months;

months.open(filename.txt)

Beacuse my current understanding of ifstream is that it just takes some inputs from a file, it doesnt just read off of it. I also understand I should use getLine, and String.find functions (as I was instructed to). Im pretty lost, so any and all help would be appreciated.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Read from a text file, and return a string based on input

• Duke of Err
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Read from a text file, and return a string based on input

Posted 28 May 2013 - 05:04 PM

Is there a space between the number and month - 01January?

Using ifstream is good.

Input/Output with files
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog