12 Replies - 985 Views - Last Post: 30 May 2013 - 08:09 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Do I want to switch to C++ Directx ?

Posted 29 May 2013 - 06:26 AM

Hi I read Kurt Jaegers book on learning XNA by example. On the back of it I have almost finished a fps tank battle game that Ive thoroughly enjoyed. I am a physics teacher I have considered trying to supplement my income writing some games in the future possibly. I was very saddened by microsofts decision about XNA when i felt i was really getting the hang of it. I have considered C++ and directx but with two small children I'm not sure I have the time to devote what I may need to it. If it takes me a few months of part time work to make a tank game to get a similar game using c++ i really dont think I could devote a year or so to it. I did find a tutorial on the net of creating a spinning cube in directx 11. Felt a bit lost by the complexity of the code compared to XNA. My maths is fine so Im fine with the concepts, vectors, matrices etc but just the complexity of the API ad thedifficulty of producing bug free code in C++ seems quite daunting.Would be very grateful if you give me some brief guidance. As a hobbyist with limited time available is c++ directx route a bit too ambitious?
Kind regards, Dale.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Do I want to switch to C++ Directx ?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Do I want to switch to C++ Directx ?

Posted 29 May 2013 - 06:55 AM

Yeah, you would - in theory - want to move to directx or what not, or you can see about waiting out another fiveish months until Microsoft makes some sort of straight up announcement on the programming framework for their new gen of devices, consoles, etc.

The other alternative is you can shuffle along with Monogame. It takes the XNA framework and open-ish-sources it so you can develop (with the same code) a game for windows, win8, android, ios, etc.