Programmer Wanted - Someone Who is Tired of Nonsense

• (2 Pages)
  • +

22 Replies - 2418 Views - Last Post: 04 June 2013 - 02:02 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Programmer Wanted - Someone Who is Tired of Nonsense

Posted 03 June 2013 - 03:30 PM

My name is Jonathan White. My background is in art and my education is in design. I can't find work and I've had closed doors after closed doors. I'm tired. I'm disheartened. I'm embarrassed. I just want to work in games without all the nonsense, people bailing on projects and the like.

I'm looking for one programmer. Just one. I don't want a fleet of people working because that is a disaster waiting to happen. Been down that road. So, I need one person who is:

-Capable of building an engine. 2D sprites, particles, weight(?), UI, gameplay, simple enemy AI... the works. We're making a game after all.
-Collaborating and communicating over Skype/e-mail/other services. We'll be sharing phone numbers as well, most likely.
-Ready to commit. I don't know how long it will take. There will be a lot of frustrations, blood sweat and tears. We may not have anything for months but we're smart (you're smarter than me), committed, we're going to have milestones, a business model, keep one another in check. You're through screwing around and you're ready to commit for yourself and your career. You're ready to make this a portion of your life. Not just an hour here and there.
-Honest and have integrity.
-You can visualize things in your main pretty well.

Bonus points if you
-Tend to like competitive, cooperative, team games, and otherwise games that don't spoon feed you victory.
-Tend to like retro style graphics, 2D art, but you also play newer games as well. You're a farily well rounded gamer.
-Can take criticisms well. Same with me. If you think something should be changed, you're not afraid to say something.
-Gave played cooperative games, understand concepts like the trinity and action based combat.