2 Replies - 592 Views - Last Post: 12 June 2013 - 07:08 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

What has to be considered in order to keep a database consistent?

Posted 05 June 2013 - 02:15 PM

Hello,

I have developed a Winforms application which handles database requests, with the database lying on a local network server. Therefor I used LINQ to SQL.

Now I read about how to use LINQ's support for optimistic concurrency here. So I simply have to catch the according ChangeConflictExceptionand handle it.
I am actually not familiar with databases so I was wondering.

• Is concurrency really completely solved this way.
  • What other scenarios should I consider in order to keep my consistent?

Like I said I am new to databases so any kind of advice is welcome.

Thanks in advance

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What has to be considered in order to keep a database consistent?

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: What has to be considered in order to keep a database consistent?

Posted 11 June 2013 - 09:34 AM

When referring to consistency in the terms of ACID properties; consistency is that the database should always be in a valid state after every single write (INSERT or UPDATE).

So the consistency of your database is defined by the requirements and rules you establish for it, so foreign keys constraints, proper data types and probably most importantly transactions (and their isolation levels). LInQ handles a lot of transactional work for you, but I think you should research into transactions and isolation levels.