Programming skills

• (2 Pages)
  • +

19 Replies - 3134 Views - Last Post: 12 August 2013 - 12:13 PM

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Programming skills

Posted 06 June 2013 - 10:49 PM

So, I have read this article http://www.codinghor...rogramming.html and it made me think about whether I have any chance if becoming a good programmer some day.

So, what I want to ask you, since I know that there are many great programmers in this community, is that when in your life did you think you become really good ( I mean College, workplace, etc. ). And do you think the ability to become a great programmer is native or is it just hunger for knowledge and hard work ?

I have my doubts at the moment because I'm not really good with algorithms but I want to become better, so I began to read Introduction to Algorithms by CLR, is that the right way to start or should have I choosed Sedgewick's Algorithms book.

EDIT: If it matters to anything, next year I'll go to college and this is why I'm asking, I love coding but I'm aware that what I've done so far doesn't even reach the complexity of real projects, but am I making a mistake trying to follow this path if I'm not good at algorithms yet ?

This post has been edited by TwoOfDiamonds: 06 June 2013 - 10:52 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Programming skills

• A little too OCD
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Programming skills

Posted 06 June 2013 - 11:28 PM

There is no skill ceiling and everyone is different. Programming is sub-divided.

There are those who are math-geniuses who can put together complex physics algorithms.
There are those who innovate and find better solutions for old problems, or new solutions to new problems.
There are those who have divine foresight that can imagine a program's implementation - then just do it.

There are probably more besides..

There's one important rule for everything in life, though. Never give up.