Page 1 of 1

Simple Arithmetic Program Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 07 June 2013 - 08:51 AM

Today I will be presenting a nice simple little program that will conduct addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division on two integers that have been chosen by the user. I will take it step by step as to help beginners learn the process of design. I am by no means a professional but I wanted to contribute what I could to this forum. It has been more than helpful to me in my education and my development as a computer science student. Dream in Code RULES!!!!

Step 1:

I'm sure with most code editors the first program you will ever see is this fun little > 10 line chunk of code here:
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    cout << "Hello world!" << endl;
    return 0;
}

As simplistic as this "program" is, I thought this was the coolest thing ever when I saw it for the first time last semester. I made my computer talk with a pop up window on my desktop! What else could I make my computer do?

Step 2:

Now let's go a step further. Let's do some math!
- To begin take out your cout hello world line....
- Replace that line with
cout << "Enter two numbers you want to perform addition, subtraction, multiplication,  and division on:" << endl;

Not much has changed. You are still telling the your program to output text with "cout <<". Except this time, we are asking the user to do something. We want them to input two integers to begin our arithmetic. How do we save those responses? Well...instead of outputting information with cout....we could TAKE IN information with cin >>.
-Right below your new cout line, place this code.
double x, y;
cin >> x >> y;

- We have told our compiler that the user is inputting two double numbers, x and y.
- A double number is taken out multiple decimal places (great for division).
- Take note that the above is the same thing as:
double x;
double y;
cin >> x;
cin >> y;