[LINUX] fstab mounting issue

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

22 Replies - 1025 Views - Last Post: 18 June 2013 - 10:35 AM

#1 TechnoBear  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 02-November 11

[LINUX] fstab mounting issue

Posted 11 June 2013 - 02:37 PM

I have a partition I have created after the install which I mounted to a folder in home. I did this with a few other partitions during the install.

The issue I have come across with the after install partition is that when mounting it through fstab it locks the folder it is mounted to (which the other partitions have not done) not saying that creates a problem just a little odd when viewed in comparison. Another issue is that the mounted partition is showing up on the desktop and in the places list, which is also not happening with the other partitions.

Any view as to what I may be doing wrong? I don't have much to offer other than the fstab file which I can add here if needed but right now am using a different computer.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: [LINUX] fstab mounting issue

#2 TechnoBear  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 02-November 11

Re: [LINUX] fstab mounting issue

Posted 13 June 2013 - 09:09 AM

Extension to this issue. The folders are now protected meaning that my scripts cannot copy files to the relevant files. This is not an issue with any of the other partitions which have been mentioned before.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 JackOfAllTrades  Icon User is offline

  • Saucy!
  • member icon

Reputation: 6066
  • View blog
  • Posts: 23,526
  • Joined: 23-August 08

Re: [LINUX] fstab mounting issue

Posted 13 June 2013 - 09:15 AM

I think we'll move this to Linux Software Support
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

  • Pancakes!
  • member icon


Reputation: 7802
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,197
  • Joined: 19-March 11

Re: [LINUX] fstab mounting issue

Posted 13 June 2013 - 09:32 AM

Are you able to modify the permissions, ie using chmod and chown?
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#5 TechnoBear  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 02-November 11

Re: [LINUX] fstab mounting issue

Posted 13 June 2013 - 10:46 AM

I tried Chmod and Chown and the permissions didn't change and folder is still owned by root.

This post has been edited by TechnoBear: 13 June 2013 - 10:51 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

  • Pancakes!
  • member icon


Reputation: 7802
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,197
  • Joined: 19-March 11

Re: [LINUX] fstab mounting issue

Posted 13 June 2013 - 11:02 AM

I'm not going to ask, I'm just going to assume that you were acting as root when you did that. :)

Not really my area of expertise, but I'll give it a think. I'll let you know if I come up with anything to try.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 TechnoBear  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 02-November 11

Re: [LINUX] fstab mounting issue

Posted 13 June 2013 - 11:08 AM

Yeah I was, would be a little silly to try and change permissions without permission.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

  • Pancakes!
  • member icon


Reputation: 7802
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,197
  • Joined: 19-March 11

Re: [LINUX] fstab mounting issue

Posted 13 June 2013 - 11:11 AM

I've made dumber mistakes...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5345
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,296
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: [LINUX] fstab mounting issue

Posted 13 June 2013 - 11:59 AM

The file system needs to be mounted with read/write privileges. I don't believe that a system user other than root can own mount points.

Posting the output of df would be helpful in understanding what you are looking at, & when you try to copy to the file system, the related output of dmesg would also be helpful.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#10 TechnoBear  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 02-November 11

Re: [LINUX] fstab mounting issue

Posted 13 June 2013 - 12:41 PM

I will have to get on it in the morning. I had to leave the computer for today. I will get all the information and look into permissions tomorrow morning.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 TechnoBear  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 02-November 11

Re: [LINUX] fstab mounting issue

Posted 14 June 2013 - 09:01 AM

Output of df:

wazu@wazu-rivendell:~$ df
Filesystem           1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda1             25195628   4498608  19417124  19% /
none                   2055084       368   2054716   1% /dev
none                   2059316    131216   1928100   7% /dev/shm
none                   2059316       104   2059212   1% /var/run
none                   2059316         0   2059316   0% /var/lock
none                   2059316         0   2059316   0% /lib/init/rw
/dev/sdb5             25195628   9537480  14378252  40% /home
/dev/sdb2            215168092  44233384 160004788  22% /var/snd
/dev/sda3            209172148    520872 198025888   1% /home/wazu/RadioBackup


Related error:

cp: cannot create regular file `/home/wazu/RadioBackup/Music/The Nightfly/407_1-1_20130604_60309.mp3': Permission denied

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5345
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,296
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: [LINUX] fstab mounting issue

Posted 14 June 2013 - 09:19 AM

Why are you mounting this under your home directory?

Try the following & provide any error messages :

sudo -i
umount /home/wazu/RadioBackup
mkdir /media/RadioBackup
mount -w /dev/sda3 /media/RadioBackup
cd /media/RadioBackup
ls -l Music
echo 'Success!' > test.txt
cat test.txt


Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#13 TechnoBear  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 02-November 11

Re: [LINUX] fstab mounting issue

Posted 14 June 2013 - 09:27 AM

because I have scripts already written which were sending files to this folder. I later realized that space was becoming an issue and so added a drive to partition and mount to the folder.

If I change the mount point I am going to have to go through all of those scripts and change to destinations. This is going to be an issue because I cannot remember all the scripts which use this folder and some of them are rather long.

The output of above was that it just changed the user to root nothing else.

This post has been edited by TechnoBear: 14 June 2013 - 09:32 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5345
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,296
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: [LINUX] fstab mounting issue

Posted 14 June 2013 - 09:31 AM

You can still mount it under media & then create a symbolic link from your home directory.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#15 TechnoBear  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 02-November 11

Re: [LINUX] fstab mounting issue

Posted 14 June 2013 - 09:40 AM

I didn't even think about that. I guess I had a dunce moment. The test you offered above thought didn't work.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2