Unity vs. XNA for future 2D games

• (2 Pages)
  • +

15 Replies - 7456 Views - Last Post: 19 June 2013 - 08:11 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Unity vs. XNA for future 2D games

Posted 12 June 2013 - 11:12 AM

Hey guys, this is my first time posting in this section and I have a couple of questions to those of you more experienced than I.

I have just recently decided on a career change and started learning a programming language (C#). It's the only coding I have ever done in my entire life and it's going to take some time before I'm ready to actually develop my own games. Still, I'm taking the plunge and I'm going into these waters head first!

I don't have unrealistic goals and I expect that it will probably take years before I can even begin to fully understand what I'm getting myself into. However, that's not going to stop me from achieving something I've wanted to do since my father brought home our first Atari with Pong. The moment I saw that thing I was hooked. I wanted to be a part of it, but life got in the way (as it often does). Now I'm in a position to change that and I'd like to get some advice from those of you already in the scene.

My primary focus will be PC, but that doesn't rule out the possibility of a console port. That being said...

I am looking at two possible framework candidates for a game I am currently developing (on paper). One is XNA (although it's future is somewhat unknown) and the other is Unity. Unity happens to be a great choice for 3D games, but my focus is 2D. Which makes my first choice (XNA) more attractive seeing as it works quite well within the Visual Studio environment. I have also heard that MonoGame is gaining popularity within the "indie" scene and I might have a go with that as well.