2 Replies - 961 Views - Last Post: 22 June 2013 - 09:38 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 jayveeeeeee  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: -1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 66
  • Joined: 27-September 12

how to refresh auto number

Posted 13 June 2013 - 07:35 AM

can anyone can give me idea how to refresh autonumber .. please look at to my photo my autonumber there is the Savings ..for example when i'm deleting data in number of saving 57(AUTO NUMBER) and i add again i want it is the auto number will exist to the 57 not 58 ......example i deleted auto number 57 then i add i want 57 not 58 ......

Attached image(s)

  • Attached Image

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: how to refresh auto number

#2 Martyr2  Icon User is offline

  • Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

Reputation: 4332
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12,127
  • Joined: 18-April 07

Re: how to refresh auto number

Posted 13 June 2013 - 12:54 PM

Well typically it is really a waste of time to worry about what number the auto number field has since you will probably add and delete throughout the lifetime of the application. Auto numbers are meant to be somewhat disposable because the idea is that it just generates the next value.

However, if you are determined to reset / renumber this then it will depend on the database you are working with. I am guessing from your technology and lingo you are using Access but I am not sure which one. No matter, I have included the link below that shows you how to do this for various versions of Access. I hope it helps!

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/812718

Enjoy! :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 jayveeeeeee  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: -1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 66
  • Joined: 27-September 12

Re: how to refresh auto number

Posted 22 June 2013 - 09:38 AM

thanks for the idea
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1