9 Replies - 967 Views - Last Post: 17 June 2013 - 09:43 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Oh where to begin?

Posted 17 June 2013 - 05:01 PM

I've been attempting to get in to programming for the past 6 years and personally I love the feeling of breaking through and learning something new. Tapping in code for hours on end is relaxing and exciting to me... But I don't know a lot of the lingo, theories, concepts and all that jargon that helps make a good computer programmer better. So I've decided I'm adamant on taking up computer science on the side, I'll hopefully be going to college this fall for computer science and programming but I'd like to get a head start to be honest.

So my question is, what's the most recent and best books to read for a beginner to computer science. One that will teach the terms, how the hard ware and soft ware functions, what each part of the computer does to help run another part. Now I'm not asking for all of it in one book, I just need some kind of "To Read:" list so I don't have to pick through the many I find out there. (None the less I can't seem to find any that are up to date), if this is in the wrong place or has already been made I apologize but it'd be helpful if you could even just redirect me to the proper post or forum that would have this information. Please and thank you all for your help!

TL;DR

I need a computer science book that's up to date, will teach me the tech lingo and all the jazz about programming and how you and your computer can make shiny things appear on the screen.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Oh where to begin?

#2 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

• Pancakes!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Oh where to begin?

Posted 17 June 2013 - 05:16 PM