8 Replies - 1257 Views - Last Post: 23 June 2013 - 08:24 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

angle of reflection and incidence?

Posted 18 June 2013 - 05:19 AM

Hi. Im new to xna specially using some physics. I tried some searching and found some formula i think, but i dont know how to use it. And what is this normal value in getting the angle of reflection?
here is my code
if (ballRect.Intersects(paddleRect))
            {

ballSpeed.Y *= -1;
            }
if (ballPos.X < 0)
            {
                ballSpeed.X *= -1;
                ballPos.X = 0;
            }
            if (ballPos.X > GraphicsDevice.Viewport.Width - ballRect.Width)
            {
                ballSpeed.X *= -1;
                ballRect.X = GraphicsDevice.Viewport.Width - ballRect.Width;
            }

if (ballPos.Y < 0)
            {
                ballSpeed.Y *= -1;
                ballRect.Y = 0;
            }

here is my declaration
 private Texture2D ball, paddle;
        private Rectangle paddleRect, ballRect;
        private Vector2 paddlPos = Vector2.Zero;
        private Vector2 ballPos = Vector2.Zero;

private float paddleSpeed = 250;
        private Vector2 ballSpeed = new Vector2(2,2);

You can see in my code that it do some bouncing but that was fixed.The angle was fixed where ever part of my paddle is hit. I just want it to be accurate as possible. Its for my project. Im weak in mathematics so can anyone explain?? pls :(/>

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: angle of reflection and incidence?

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: angle of reflection and incidence?

Posted 18 June 2013 - 07:41 AM

I have a tutorial on 2D collisions. Hope it helps!
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 18 June 2013 - 04:30 PM

View Postmacosxnerd101, on 18 June 2013 - 07:41 AM, said:

I have a tutorial on 2D collisions. Hope it helps!