4 Replies - 1616 Views - Last Post: 19 June 2013 - 07:34 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Tackle the Coding Interviews or Take Another Route?

Posted 18 June 2013 - 11:18 AM

I keep applying for these internships at local startup companies, and I feel like I do well enough in the first parts of the process -- the cover letter/resume part (seeing as I tend to be a rather skilled writer) and the behavioral interview. Where I seem to fall down, though, is the technical part of the interview. I tend to flounder at this part -- the knowledge questions and the coding questions -- even when it's relatively simple stuff.

I've provided more information below, but the gist of it all is that I have trouble recalling information and expressing myself in a clear and organized fashion, I'm not good at coding on the fly without reference materials, and the terms and interactional modes of the interview tend to interfere with my cognition and foster anxiety in me. You can read the more detailed info or skip to the end! :smile2:/>/>

Spoiler

I'm 3 semesters into my grad program, where I have been making consistent A's. I've also had fellow students come to me for help with their work, such as a couple of friends who I helped with pointer arithmetic in a C class; during that same C class, for one assignment, I even came up with a solution that was more memory-efficient than the professor's recommended approach. Surely, I know something, or else the previous statements would not be true. Yet, in these interviews, I often feel as if I come off as a babbling idiot, and I wonder if the interviewer is secretly channeling Simon Cowell -- in his demeanor and thoughts, if not his actual words.

As such, I am trying to find a solution that will end with me having a career that I like. The first "branch" of thought here involves finding ways to prevail at the interviews, for which I have some ideas: