I want to transfer Amiga basic code to run on a modern computer

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

27 Replies - 1228 Views - Last Post: 26 June 2013 - 09:46 AM Rate Topic: -----

#16 JackOfAllTrades  Icon User is offline

  • Saucy!
  • member icon

Reputation: 6092
  • View blog
  • Posts: 23,612
  • Joined: 23-August 08

Re: I want to transfer Amiga basic code to run on a modern computer

Posted 20 June 2013 - 09:33 AM

Quote

If anyone has used a modern language for just what I am doing then it would be hugely helpful.


But...we have no idea what you are doing???

/me is confused
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#17 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9497
  • View blog
  • Posts: 35,844
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: I want to transfer Amiga basic code to run on a modern computer

Posted 20 June 2013 - 09:36 AM

Ahuh... so we are not going to know what this "simple calculation program" actually does, are we?

Which emulator were you using?

http://fs-uae.net/ ?
http://www.rcdrummond.net/uae/ ?
http://www.amigaforever.com/emulator/ ?
http://slashdot.org/...-the-proper-way ?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#18 JackOfAllTrades  Icon User is offline

  • Saucy!
  • member icon

Reputation: 6092
  • View blog
  • Posts: 23,612
  • Joined: 23-August 08

Re: I want to transfer Amiga basic code to run on a modern computer

Posted 20 June 2013 - 09:47 AM

Could it be
Spoiler

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#19 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5382
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,350
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: I want to transfer Amiga basic code to run on a modern computer

Posted 20 June 2013 - 10:12 AM

Posted Image

+

Posted Image


Posted Image
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#20 JackOfAllTrades  Icon User is offline

  • Saucy!
  • member icon

Reputation: 6092
  • View blog
  • Posts: 23,612
  • Joined: 23-August 08

Re: I want to transfer Amiga basic code to run on a modern computer

Posted 20 June 2013 - 12:52 PM

Ah, memories of my Amiga 500. Pretty much only used it to play King's Quest.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#21 alphagemini  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 20-June 13

Re: I want to transfer Amiga basic code to run on a modern computer

Posted 20 June 2013 - 02:04 PM

Yes, Amigas were really game machines. The A4000/040 was the best machine in its day for maths processing. It cost
3500 pounds sterling. People still use them. There's a fan club. Amazing how far things have come.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#22 AdamSpeight2008  Icon User is offline

  • MrCupOfT
  • member icon


Reputation: 2270
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,496
  • Joined: 29-May 08

Re: I want to transfer Amiga basic code to run on a modern computer

Posted 20 June 2013 - 02:05 PM

By an Amiga Computer?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#23 alphagemini  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 20-June 13

Re: I want to transfer Amiga basic code to run on a modern computer

Posted 20 June 2013 - 02:07 PM

I have one, a4000/040. I want to make my calculations faster. Read my post
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#24 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9497
  • View blog
  • Posts: 35,844
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: I want to transfer Amiga basic code to run on a modern computer

Posted 20 June 2013 - 02:09 PM

Since we are not allowed to know what this program actually does I wonder - how hard can it be to take the logic and dump it into something like c#? If you wrote this then it's a matter of just lining up syntax..
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#25 alphagemini  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 20-June 13

Re: I want to transfer Amiga basic code to run on a modern computer

Posted 25 June 2013 - 11:15 PM

View Postmodi123_1, on 20 June 2013 - 02:09 PM, said:

Since we are not allowed to know what this program actually does I wonder - how hard can it be to take the logic and dump it into something like c#? If you wrote this then it's a matter of just lining up syntax..



Yes of course, but I would be interested to hear from someone who had done it before me

Thanks for you help, people
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#26 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9497
  • View blog
  • Posts: 35,844
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: I want to transfer Amiga basic code to run on a modern computer

Posted 26 June 2013 - 06:45 AM

... has done what? Rewrote an application from one system to another? Yeah - that, on occasion, is a third of my job. VB6 to .NET... html to ASP.NET.. ASP to regular HTML.. COBOL to what ever.. yeah folks have done conversions.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#27 Witchking  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 68
  • View blog
  • Posts: 188
  • Joined: 17-February 13

Re: I want to transfer Amiga basic code to run on a modern computer

Posted 26 June 2013 - 07:05 AM

Seems to me like your two options are either let someone see your code and port it for you, or buckle down, learn a new language and do it yourself.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#28 alphagemini  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 20-June 13

Re: I want to transfer Amiga basic code to run on a modern computer

Posted 26 June 2013 - 09:46 AM

View PostWitchking, on 26 June 2013 - 07:05 AM, said:

Seems to me like your two options are either let someone see your code and port it for you, or buckle down, learn a new language and do it yourself.



Yes seems logical. Thanks
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2