3 Replies - 745 Views - Last Post: 29 June 2013 - 08:51 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 subrataroy  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 02-May 13

how to setup my application to another computer

Posted 21 June 2013 - 09:29 PM

Hi

I would like to know :-

1. after developing a program with vb then I would like to make it as .exe file and run it like a setup? How to do it?

2. In my program I have Ms Access 2007 as database. How to link it with the program that I create? Meaning, embedded together in the setup?

3. If I run the setup n install it in different computer, Can I see the database as well? Because my intention is to use this system in some other computer. The results they get program the program will be given back to me. How to assess the database so that they can send it to me accordingly?

I am totally new to Vb and have no idea about this. Please advise.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: how to setup my application to another computer

#2 andrewsw  Icon User is online

  • Fire giant boob nipple gun!
  • member icon

Reputation: 2876
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,544
  • Joined: 12-December 12

Re: how to setup my application to another computer

Posted 22 June 2013 - 02:58 AM

If you are totally new to VB why are you starting out with VB6? This is old/deprecated technology. Use VB.NET.

If you want to embed a database then you would be much better off using SQL Server, Compact Edition or Express Edition. These are pre-installed with Visual Studio (for VB.NET).

Embed SQL Server Express

However, I am not too sure about the process of embedding an Access database: someone else might contribute. (It might require the RunTime Environment to also be embedded, some drivers and licence considerations?)

This post has been edited by andrewsw: 22 June 2013 - 03:15 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 andrewsw  Icon User is online

  • Fire giant boob nipple gun!
  • member icon

Reputation: 2876
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,544
  • Joined: 12-December 12

Re: how to setup my application to another computer

Posted 22 June 2013 - 03:10 AM

I don't think you can embed the Access database. You have to save it in a file/folder, attach it as a resource, and distribute it with your application. But, hopefully, someone else will clarify.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 BobRodes  Icon User is offline

  • Your Friendly Local Curmudgeon
  • member icon

Reputation: 571
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,979
  • Joined: 19-May 09

Re: how to setup my application to another computer

Posted 29 June 2013 - 08:51 PM

It is entirely possible to include an access file in the setup package. Google "Microsoft windows installer" for more information. Avoid the "Package and Deployment Wizard" as it is buggy.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1