12 Replies - 861 Views - Last Post: 05 July 2013 - 02:23 PM Rate Topic: ***-- 2 Votes

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Structuring a structured database

Posted 25 June 2013 - 06:08 PM

Hi everyone.... im new to database...
we all know that before we can construct a structured database we should also create a structured erd, an entity relationship diagram...
since so far i have no problems dealing with creating the sql... i need to enhance my analysis skills for me to construct a structured erd...

so here is it.... the erd i am going to structure is all about an online leave of absence system....
for employees here they all know that if you are a regular employee then you are given a 30 days of leave.... so 15 days each for vacation leave and sick leave and for not regular employees then the number of days of leave will increased depending on the business rules of the company...

so far.. i have four entities..
the user_account for log in processes which includes the username and password
the employee_details for the name of the employee and their employee id
the leave_details, these are the needed details in applying leave in which the employee will fill up if they want to file a leave of absence request..
the remarks, this entity will be seen only with the employees who wished to request a leave of absence and the only one who is capable to approve of disapprove the request is the administrator of the system...

i passed the erd to our professor and she told me that our erd is completely wrong...these are the questions she gave us...
-if an employee send a leave of absence request then how will she know if her request if being approved or disapprove..
-how will the employee know if the number of days left for 30 or 20 days is already over?
-how will the employee know if she will be sending a leave of request with pay or without pay?

gosh!!!!! i had so many questions... and i am having trouble with this erd..
any help will be appreciated.....