5 Replies - 1290 Views - Last Post: 28 June 2013 - 09:10 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Developing Embedded Linux Firmware

Posted 26 June 2013 - 04:51 AM

I'm working toward developing a custom Linux-based firmware for ARM architecture for a gaming system I'm tinkering with. I know I have to build the Linux kernel from source for ARM architecture, but not sure where to go... I've also looked into the BuildRoot and Linux From Scratch projects as well.

For now, I think working on an embedded platform is a bit extreme. Since I'm just starting out, I'd like to develop my stripped-down Linux distro for x86. I'd build it, and test the firmware on a virtual machine. I'd like to have the OS stripped down as much as possible since it'll be intended for an embedded OS. I'd also be developing the GUI from scratch. I don't want it to be complex like a typical desktop OS, but rather simple like an embedded OS. Something similar to Android, iOS, or OUYA's GUI. I'm just not sure how to develop my own desktop environment.

Then, I'd develop an SDK from there.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Developing Embedded Linux Firmware

#2 Skydiver  Icon User is online

• Code herder
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Developing Embedded Linux Firmware

Posted 26 June 2013 - 05:52 AM

Sounds like an interesting project. So do you have a specific question?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 26 June 2013 - 04:49 PM

Wow, I wrote this when I was tired and realized when I woke up that I didn't ask any questions haha... Yes, I have a few:

1) I guess what I'm wondering is, where do I start?
Could some one provide me with instructions, or to a resource that'll explain how to build this? I'd like the OS to be less than 256MB disk space and have an even smaller memory footprint. I'd like to aim for Tegra 4 hardware. Are there any forums dedicated to embedded system development?